Marriott Alumni Magazine

Winter 1989 Exchange

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 22 of 31

Briefly Kemper Scholars Announced Each year at BYU, the James S. Kemper Foundation selects one outstanding business major as a Kemper Scholar. This designation means that the student, usually a freshman, will be given the opportunity for three summer internships in Kemper Group corporate offices around the country. The internships' emphasis is on developing personal style, confidence, and character for working in a business environment, rather than training for a particular job. One of the key benefits of the grant is the personal counseling available through-out the four-year program. Kemper Scholars are expected to maintain the high degree of accomplishment that they demonstrated to receive the designation. The current Kemper Scholars at BYU are Doug Deford, a senior in business management/ operations; Brian Williamson, a junior in accounting (currently on a mission); and Jeff Kendrick, a sophomore in business management. Professor Milton Smith, associate director of the Institute of Business Management, is the Kemper Scholar campus advisor. Garrett Professorship Awarded The J. Earl and Elaine Garrett Professorship in Business Management has been awarded to G. Fred Streuling, director of the School of Accountancy. Streuling received his Ph.D. from the University of Iowa in 1971 and has a national reputation in the area of taxation. He came to BYU in 1976 after having taught at the University of Texas and the University of Minnesota. He has also been senior tax accountant with Arthur Andersen & Co. Professor Streuling is past president of the American Taxation Association and has published two books and numerous articles on various issues in taxation. J. Earl and Elaine Garrett endowed this professorship in recognition of the great respect and debt of gratitude they feel toward BYU and its business programs. J. Earl Garrett is an alumnus of the School of Management and a member of the National Advisory Council. When he graduated from BYU, he made a personal pledge that he would repay the School of Management for the opportunities his business education had given him. A major gift toward construction of the Tanner Building and the endowment of this professorship prove his commitment to that pledge. James D. McDonald Receives Stone Professorship The first recipient of the O. Leslie and Dorothy C. Stone Professorship in Management is James D. McDonald, professor of managerial economics. McDonald completed his Ph.D. at Purdue University in 1970 and came to BYU in 1972. His areas of expertise are econometrics and quantitative methods. He was selected as Professor of the Year in 1986 at BYU and presented the University Distinguished Faculty Lecture in 1987. He is recognized for his excellence in both teaching and research. The O. Leslie and Dorothy C. Stone Professorship in Management was endowed by their two sons, Ronald V. "Bud" and Thomas R. Stone, and their daughter-in-law, Mrs. Douglas L. (Karen Sedgwick) Stone, to honor their parents. Wheatley Professorship Awarded Alan L. Wilkins, professor of organizational behavior, has been named first recipient of the Wheatley Professorship for Integrity in Free Enterprise. Wilkins received his Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1979. He began teaching at BYU in 1978 and specializes in innovation and organizational and cultural change. He is on the editorial board for the Academy of Management Journal and has recently published a book on developing corporate character and several articles on organizational culture and cultural change. The Jack R. Wheatley family created this professorship to motivate both the faculty and students of the Marriott School to cultivate integrity, high values, generosity, and hard work as they prepare for leadership in business. White Professorship Announced Steven V. White, former chairman of the National Advisory Council, endowed a professorship in the name of his wife shortly before he passed away in 1988 (see tribute on page 23). He requested that the Georgia EXCHANGE 21

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Marriott Alumni Magazine - Winter 1989 Exchange