Marriott Alumni Magazine

Winter 1989 Exchange

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 25 of 31

Marriott School Alumni Board Since 1986, when the School of Management Alumni Board held its first meeting, the board has grown substantially in size, stature, and direction. It currently consists of 30 outstanding alumni from across the United States and Canada and comprises a representative cross section of degrees and professions. The members, who work closely with the dean and the director of alumni relations, meet on campus in the spring and fall of each year and act as a strong advisory and support group to the Marriott School of Management. Dean Paul H. Thompson appoints board members to serve three-year terms, and new officers are elected annually. Lowell Benson ('64 MBA) of Salt Lake City was the first president. The current president is Ross Davidson ('76 MBA) of San Antonio, and the president- elect is Victoria Laney ('77 MOB) of Atlanta. The board assists with class reunions and other alumni activities, as well as helping with a number of student programs, such as Student Pledge and Intern for a Day. They financially support the Marriott School Student Council and work closely with council members. Various board members have also acted as mentors to graduates of the school. Board members are deeply concerned about the low percentage (5 percent) of alumni who contribute to the Marriott School and are working to bring the participation up to the 30-percent level of other established business schools. Many members are also active in peer-to-peer fundraising and company matching gift programs. Other Alumni Board projects include analyzing the feasibility of an alumni placement center, increasing national recognition for the school, expanding alumni executive education, increasing alumni interaction with faculty, fostering better alumni support of the BYU Management Society, and involving more alumni with the school. The board is composed of supportive alumni who want to see the Marriott School rated as one of the top management schools in the country. Their commitment and support is a great help to the school in reaching that goal. Above: Bill Price (left) and other Board members visit with Associate Dean Gary McKinnon (right). Below: The Board shares a light moment during a presentation by President-elect Victoria Laney.

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Marriott Alumni Magazine - Winter 1989 Exchange